Windows Live Writer–Test Drive

Windows 7 is a wonder. I had, long ago, panned Windows 7 for not being being more, simply put, EPIC. But after the torment in Tartarus that was Windoze Vista, Win7 has been really really nice.

As a treat to Microsoft, I’m actually giving their suite of Live Tools a try, including Life Writer. It seems to have done a suitable job of downloading my theme and giving me a ‘edit my blog’ sort of feel. It obviously does not have the capabilities of my Zemanta-enhanced WordPress editor, but does seem a handy way of firing out quick, non-media-heavy posts. It sensibly includes a quick buttons to open the actual WordPress dashboard, to manage comments and a button to my blog itself. I will look into the plugins as well to see if I can make this a little more effective.

PS: Browsed through the ‘plugins’. Some look useful, none look authentic or safe. Giving them a wide-berth for now. Also inserting URLs and images is just not as easy / smooth as on the WordPress editor.

4 responses to “Windows Live Writer–Test Drive

  1. Windows Live Writer is a fantastic offline blogging tool with a WYSIWYG editor. It interfaces with just about any blog service [Blogger, LiveJournal, TypePad, WordPress, etc.] If you’re a blogger you’ll find this tool incredibly helpful- and it’s refreshingly free from Microsoft.

    Funny you should mention Zemanta… There’s a plug-in for Windows Live Writer from Zemanta…

    Here’s a link to the main Windows Live Writer gallery…
    http://gallery.live.com/results.aspx?bt=9&pl=8

    Happy blogging!
    Until next time,
    Larry Henry Jr.

    • yes. I did see the plugin gallery, but got suspicious of the quality and virus-free-ness of the plugins befre I got to ‘Z’ and found Zemanta. Zemanta and other plgins aside, the WordPress interface is much too powerful for me to do more than Quickpresses with Live Writer

  2. Pingback: Just Wanna Ride My MotorPickle « John's Live Space

  3. Pingback: Blog? « psycedelic

Leave a Reply

