I want to read this book

Via 3Quarksdaily.

While it sounds good, I’m also hoping it does fall into the same oh-woe-is-me-and-my-community-and-all-that-is-lost self-pitying mood that killed Khaled Husseini’s The Kite Runner for me. I can deal with anguish and a sense of loss. In fact, I welcome such moods in literature, as powerful as they are. But what I don’t want is the creeping guilt with Hesseini flagellates himself in the Kite Runner.

If you can feel loss for what was, anguish for what might have been, and yet stand up, accept, look and move forward; more respect from me to you.

Leave a Reply

